top of page

Inside Film: 12 Features In Line For AACTA'S Byron Kennedy Award

While AACTA’s Byron Kennedy Award is typically given to an individual or organisation who demonstrates “outstanding creative enterprise”, this year the award will go to a film. The nominees for the honour, which celebrates the legacy of Dr George Miller’s original producing partner and Mad Max co-creator Byron Kennedy, are a short-list of the last decade’s best indie features. The films are diverse, spanning comedies, Westerns, thrillers, horrors and sci-fis, but AACTA has determined each are in line with Kennedy’s “ethos of excellence”, resourcefulness and “the can-do spirit of independent, low-budget local filmmaking.”



bottom of page